Saturday, May 9, 2020

California Academy of Sciences Livestreams

EDUCATORS
Join our planetarium from home
Although the museum is temporarily closed, we can still explore the Universe together!
Our Morrison Planetarium regularly streams exciting, can't-miss events on Facebook.
If you are working virtually with students, share the link to an event, instructing them when to tune in for the live presentation in their time zone.
Recordings display afterwards on the Morrison Planetarium Facebook feed.
Blast off to the moon with us!
Moon Explorers
Livestreamed Tuesdays at 9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET
Guided by: Mary Holt, Planetarium Programs Specialist
Duration: Approximately 15 minutes
In this interactive presentation, we'll explore our favorite moon shapes in the sky and fly like astronauts to visit them up-close—all from the comfort of our own homes! Come ready with all your burning lunar questions.
Moon Explorers is designed for children five and under, but all ages are welcome.
Saturn as viewed using free OpenSpace software.
Virtual Tour of Outer Space
Livestreamed Wednesdays at 4:30 pm PT / 7:30 pm ET
Guided by: Morrison Planetarium Presenter
Duration: Approximately 30 minutes
Wander through our Solar System and beyond in this live presentation that uses a variety of 3D software—some of which you can use in your own home!
This program is designed for ages seven and up—bring your space-themed questions and prepare to blast off!
A telescope points to the night sky.
Night Sky Update
Livestreamed Thursdays at 1:30 pm PT / 4:30 pm ET
Guided by: Bing Quock, Assistant Director of Morrison Planetarium
Duration: Approximately 20 minutes
Join us for a quick glimpse of the current night sky. Which planets are visible? What Moon phase will we see tonight? Which stars can we see, and how does the sky change through the night?
This presentation is targeted towards amateur astronomers ready to get outside and look at the stars, with or without a telescope.
This is a great way to preview the night sky and ask your stargazing questions!